Article 234 of the Constitution outlines the functions and powers of the Public Service Commission. According to the article the Commission is expected to;

  • Establish and abolish office in the public service;
  • Appoint persons to hold or act in public offices, and to confirm appointments;
  • Exercise disciplinary control over and remove persons holding or acting in those offices;
  • Promote the values and principles referred to in Articles 10 and 232 throughout the public service;
  • Investigate, monitor and evaluate the organization, administration and personnel practices of the public service;
  • Ensure that the public service is efficient and effective;
  • Develop human resources in the public service;
  • Review and make recommendations to the national government in respect ofconditions of service, code of conduct and qualifications of officers in the public service;
  • Evaluate and report to the President and Parliament on the extent to which the values and principles referred to in Articles 10 and 232 are complied with in the public service;
  • Hear and determine appeals in respect of county governments’ public service; and
  • Perform any other functions and exercise any other powers conferred by national legislation.

The Constitution further bestows upon the Commission other functions which include the following:

  • Nominating persons to the Judicial Service Commission and Salaries Remuneration Commission under Articles 171(2) and 230(2){b} respectively;
  • Recommending persons to be appointed as Principal Secretaries under Article 155 (2) (a); and
  • Receiving petitions for the removal of the Director of Public Prosecutions and recommending appointment of a tribunal to investigate the complaints under Article 158(2) (3) and (4).

Quick Links



missionhouseTo Reform and Transform the Public Service for Efficient and Effective Service Delivery.


missionhouseA Citizen-Centric Public Service.

Core Values


Contact Us


Physical Address:  Harambee Avenue Nairobi Kenya

P.O.BOX:   30095, 00100, Nairobi, Kenya

Telephone:   +254 (020) 2223901-5, 2227471-5

FAx:   +254 (020) 2214791

Mobile:   +254-724-253807,+254-724-253807, +254-735-800282,+254-735-800282


Twitter Feed