Public Service Commission

A Citizen Centric Public Service

psc logo


The National Assembly Departmental Committee on Administration and National Security in collaboration with the Public Service Commission is developing a new legal framework to provide for uniform norms and standards for management of human resource in the entire public service.

The Commission held a strategic policy working retreat on the Draft Public Service Human Resource Management Bill with members of the Committee led by their Chairman Paul Koinange at Prideinn Paradise Resort Mombasa on Thursday 11th February 2021.

Speaking during the opening session of the retreat, PSC vice chairperson Charity Kisotu expressed optimism that the draft bill will be passed by the national assembly soon in order to correct the disjointed application of human resource management practices in the public service.  
“The envisaged law will guide effective management of human resource in the public sector considering that currently the management of human resource in the public sector is guided by various legislations, regulations and policies developed by different entities at national and county government levels,” said Ms Kisotu.
PSC directors Jackline Manani and Joan Machayo took participants through various provisions of the draft bill.

Mr Koinange said his committee will engage other stakeholders through public participation forums before the bill is presented to the National Assembly for consideration and enactment.

Among those in attendance were PSC commissioners Mary Mwiandi, Reuben Chirchir, Patrick Wamoto, Joyce Nyabuti, Salma Ahmed, Joan Otieno and Andrew Muriuki, CEO Simon Rotich and deputy Commission Secretary Jane Chege.

Members of parliament present were Fatuma Gedi, Josphat Wachira, Swarup Mishra, Oku Kaunya, Makali Mulu, Peter Masara, William Chepkut, Jeremiah Lomurukal, Abdie Shurie and Marselino Arbelle.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) on 2nd February 2021 conducted a one-day virtual induction program for over 2000 Public Service Internship Programme (PSIP) interns deployed to 161 Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).
The interns, who were deployed on 25th January 2021, are the third cohort of interns to be recruited since the inception of the programme in 2019.
PSC Vice Chairperson Ms. Charity Kisotu while officially opening the induction informed the interns that Serving in the public service is a high calling that requires personal commitment, integrity, honesty and professionalism.
“As interns, you must therefore have the right mind-set, be patriotic, be ready to continuously learn, observe values and protect the resources under your care”, she said.
Commissioner Dr. Mary Mwiandi, head of the PSIP programme urged the interns to make effort to acquire relevant skills in their areas of specialization.
PSC CEO, Mr. Simon Rotich said that the selection process ensured that the recruited interns represent the face of Kenya, and was guided by Merit, Ethnicity, Gender, Disability status, Minorities and the marginalized.
PSIP is a Government initiative that offers opportunity for college graduates to acquire and develop valuable technical and professional skills while gaining work experience
It offers financial sustenance to the interns through payment of a stipend and also provides the work experience that will increase chances of their employability.
In attendance during the virtual induction were, PSC Commissioners, and Heads of Human Resource in the MDAs and Public Service Commission Staff.


KRA Deputy Commissioner Mr. George Muya presents the Taxpayers Winner’s Award 2020 to PSC Vice Chaiperson Ms Charity Kisotu at the Commission House in Nairobi.

Kenya Revenue Authority (KRA) today presented the Taxpayers Winner’s Award 2020, in the Public Sector category, to Public Service Commission.
KRA Deputy Commissioner Mr George Muya presented the award to PSC Vice Chaiperson Ms Charity Kisotu at the Commission House in Nairobi.
He said PSC has been consistent in compiling tax returns and has continuously collaborated with KRA, thereby contributing to the realization of KRA’s targets in tax collection.
Mr Muya observed that Government institutions were perceived as being reluctant to fulfil their tax obligations noting that the situation has since changed following PSC intervention.
Ms Kisotu noted the importance of tax compliance the world over, stating that it is critical in promoting any government’s development agenda, and delivery of services to the citizens.
She commended the President and the KRA for placing great importance on recognizing institutions that pay their taxes promptly.
“I wish to appeal to all public institutions to lead by example in being tax compliant. This is because tax payment is an obligation for all public and private organizations as well as individuals, to enable government effectively undertake its role of providing services to citizens,” said Ms Kisotu.


Copyright © 2021 Public Service Commission of Kenya. All Rights Reserved.